Strawberry Tart

Last week, the lovely Tara arrived on my doorstep with a gargantuan basket? bowl? bucket? of strawberries fresh from Sancha, a favourite Great Wall getaway of ours. There were clearly way too many to eat. So, I cleaned, sliced and froze them in anticipation of a culinary moment.

On the weekend we held a massive cocktail party at our house, so I decided to go looking for a delicious strawberry recipe! I chanced upon Smitten Kitchen‘s beautiful recipe. I got very excited about the beautiful pictures and gave it a try.

My pre-baked pastry! It rolled out well and was pretty easy to work with. The recipe suggested that I rolled it out between gladwrap but I found that wasn’t needed.

I haven’t got a photo of the filling. I was too worried about something going wrong and was so focussed on whisking! It was amazing though! I followed the recipe step-by-step… and voila! I had a perfectly thick, custardy filling!

Here’s me adding the ruby red strawberries at the party. And a sneak peak at my little Chinese kitchen!

Mmmmm…. and yes, it was as delicious as it looks. It was kinda yum to have freshly defrosted strawberries too. It added a frosty, icy texture. I don’t think they’d be too good if you let them sit for too long though, I had a feeling that they would continue to lose liquid. However, the tart didn’t last long enough to find that out.

(I’m just excited that there are still more strawberries in the freezer!)

One thought on “Strawberry Tart

  1. If you ever want to make it again, you have a taste tester over here!!! LOL! Looks delicious. I remember that night and I was so nauseous that I couldn’t try it but my eyes devoured that amazing piece of art!

Leave a comment