A dash of Christmas

Sheesh. Where does life go?

I had all these fabulous ideas for an advent calendar. And then I was in Kmart (I love that store). They had these calendars for $7, so I bought one, pulled out all the crappy lollies and refilled it with less crappy ones. Done.

IMG_5160

I saw a really cute post of a wall hanging made from pompoms (#mysugarandcloth) and it inspired me to make a Christmas wreath. Mine is not as classy as it is just on a ring of cardboard. It was really looking like it just wasn’t going to happen as it was taking me forever to make the pompoms… but I suddenly had a genius moment: Why wind 1 string of wool around a template, when you can wind 10? And suddenly the last 2/3 of it was done in two sittings!! Am I late to catch onto that or what?

IMG_5161

My annual cookie swap was fabulous… look at the deliciousness:

IMG_5171

Donna Hay introduced me to mince pie icecream sandwiches (literally chopped supermarket mince pies mixed in vanilla icecream!!!) in her latest magazine – sorry, no photos – got eaten tooooooo quickly.

And finally, another everybody-friendly dessert:

IMG_5178

I had an image of an old-school sponge cake in my head, and that’s what inspired me. Two gingerbread cakes from this ‘Christmas in a glass’ recipe, with the centre layer filled with coconut icecream (2 tins coconut milk and 3/4 cup brown sugar churned in my icecream maker) and coconut chips, and the top is more icecream with raspberries, cherries, pomegranate and mint. This is vegan, FODMAP-friendly, dairy-free, gluten-free, etc. ‘Twas delish.

That’s all from me. Gotta go pack the car with camping gear. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

