Baby-led Weaning – Mango Cake

The best thing about this cake?? The colour!!! It’s a complete sunshine, sunflower, banana yellow! So beautiful. It just made me want to gobble it all up. I did my best to stop after two slices. I may have eaten three.

It is a flourless cake, and it is made with ground almonds. But, nut allergies, you ask??? Yes, I know there is a risk of  allergies, since she has never had any before. However, I figured that I would rather have her eat almonds at home, and watch carefully for reactions that be out and about and have something go wrong.

Thankyou to my lovely playgroup-Mum-buddy Kate for this recipe! You can find the original recipe here. However, I tweaked it a little and here is mine:

Mango Cake

  • about 8 baby mangoes
  • 2 cups ground almonds
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 eggs worth of olive oil (because eggs are expensive!)
  • 1 tsp baking powder

1. Puree the mangoes in a food processor.

2. Add the almonds & baking powder into the food processor and mix.

3. Slowly add the eggs & olive oil on a low speed.

4. Put in pan and bake for half an hour in my crazy oven, but I suspect much longer in a normal oven. Until a knife comes out clean.

20130507_142437

Golden!

(excuse the slops on the side… I had a very short window of opportunity to bake this one… very hurried!)

20130507_172453

Thumbs up from this one!

20130507_191118

It looks much yellow-er in real life!

The pictures aren’t great… I could only find my mobile at the time! Sorry!

Here are some of my other successful baby led weaning recipes:

Zucchini slice and potato cakes
Banana bread
Pikelets

Leave a Reply

