Red Bar Cooking Classes

As I’ve prattled on about before, it’s great to live in such a varied expat community, where I get to learn about all sorts of delicious foreign food. But occasionally…. I get to return the favour!

At school, we often get given food-related gifts. This is a bit of a Chinese thing. Since teachers in the public system are on quite a low salary, they get “bonuses” in the way of household goods. I’ve received crates of oranges, apples, cow’s milk, almond milk, a yoghurt maker and even a big pack of toilet paper (which was probably the most practical since the school toilets don’t have any! Maybe they’ll give me soap one day…).

Really, I shouldn’t be receiving these, but my wonderful, kind principal doesn’t like me being left out. So, I try to give back with the gifts by baking something with them (and no, you are not about to see a toilet paper cake). Because of this, I’ve earnt a bit of a reputation at school for cakes and often get a request for a lesson.

On a number of occasions, I’ve had a crowd of teachers piled into my tiny kitchen, marvelling at my oven (not a standard kitchen appliance over here). It’s lots of fun, and great for my language skills. The kids even turned up for the last one!

IMG_2524a

Mixing the mixture…
IMG_2526a

and doing the icing.

These ones are from my last school. I often intrigued the teachers with my leftover-dinner lunches.

DSC_0794

This was a curry class.DSC_0803

More curry.DSC_9719a

And lasagne!

For anyone who would like to do a similar thing, I’ve translated a basic cake and muffin recipe. I’ve only done the ingredients because I visually teach them the method. I’d like to reference the recipes, but I’ve been using them for so long, I can’t remember where they came from. If anyone knows, please let me know.

Cake:

125g butter 125克 黄油
1/2 cup sugar 1/2 杯 糖
1 teaspoon vanilla essence 1 茶匙 香草精
2 eggs 2个鸡蛋
2 cups S.R. Flour(or 2 cups Plain Flour + 2 teaspoons of baking powder) 2杯 白面(或者2杯白面加2茶匙发粉)
1/2 cup milk 1/2 杯 牛奶

1杯 = 大概250毫升]

Muffins:

2 cups S.R. Flour(or 2 cups Plain Flour + 2 teaspoons of baking powder) 2杯 白面(或者2杯白面加2茶匙发粉)
1/2 cup sugar 2 勺子 白糖
1/2 teaspoon of salt 1/2 茶匙 盐
1 egg 1个鸡蛋
1 cup milk 1 杯 牛奶
1/4 cup oil 1 杯 油
Optional ingredients: 自选配料:
mashed bananas 烂糊的香蕉
dried coconut 干的椰子
orange rind + orange juice 橙子的皮 和 橙子汁
chocolate 巧克力
cooked apple 熟的苹果

Why the “Red Bar” you ask? That’s the name of our apartment, because our living room looks like this:

DSC_0576a

DSC_0831a

One thought on “Red Bar Cooking Classes

Leave a Reply

