13 baby must-haves

This is one for my swathe of pregnant friends. I thought I’d make a list of the things I’ve found essential in my first 8 weeks of motherhood. They are not in a particular order, just as I thought of them.

1. swaddles – Swaddling cloths are amazing. My favourite ones have been muslin. They have helped so much with calming and sleeping. Get nice big ones.

2. drink bottle – I bought myself a good quality, stainless steel, pop-top drink bottle for breast-feeding. It’s always close-by. ‘Eco-lateral’ in Adelaide have lovely ones.

3. reusable nursing pads – Mainly for environmental reasons, but they’re more comfy than the disposable ones anyway. I bought some great minke ones from ‘The Rainbow Tree’ in Adelaide.

4. good breast-feeding bras – I got fitted at David Jones at about 38 weeks, but apparently you can do it much earlier (after 20 weeks or so).

5. breast-feeding nightie – I hadn’t thought of this until I realised how much my boobs would leak at night (since I’m lucky enough to have a bubs who sleeps through the night). You need something that you can put nursing pads into. So, I sleep in a breast-feeding nightie or a basic, comfy sports bra with no hooks or clips.

6. nappies – I did a lot of research into cloth nappies and decided on the ‘itti bitti tutto’. I love them. We had disposables for the first 5 days or so, and for travelling, but they fit bubs really well from the first week. And washable wipes – to go with our enviro-friendly nappies. We bought cushie-tushie ones from ‘The Rainbow Tree’. They’re great because they are soft and minke on one side but a bit grippy on the other side for poos! They work best if you wet them a little. We also bought matching dirty nappy bags, which have a pocket for the wipes.

7. pram – We went with a bugaboo because we wanted something that did infant-toddler. We also needed something that was super-sturdy with good suspension for Beijing footpaths. The seat can also reverse, the handle bar is super-high for us tall people, it has a good shopping bag underneath, a good hood and a cover to protect bubs from the elements. There are heaps of prams out there – start early. Think carefully about all the things you’d like and make a list. If you take this list with you, you’re bound to find the perfect one out there!

8. hand sanitiser – get a pump action bottle for home and little ones for the nappy bag.

9. nappy bag – Get a good nappy bag with lots of pockets – ours has become my handbag already – who wants to go out with more than 1 bag?? Oh, and it also has a great changing mat. Even better – I bought it cheap on taobao.

10. baby carrier – We bought an ergo baby carrier, again after a lot of research. It’s super comfy and great when you want both hands free. And since we don’t have a car in Beijing, we will be using this whilst riding in taxis. We also had a bouncy chair on loan for a few weeks. This was great for bubs to have some independent time and give us a chance to do our own thing.

11. baby clothes that do up under the bum – I soon discovered that it’s hard to hold a wriggling baby when their clothes are riding up their back. It makes them all slippery. Get a range of newborn clothes that all do up at the bum. Oh, and babies are smaller than you think.

12. socks with good cuffs that don’t slip off – Little feet work hard, and socks quickly slip off. At Target, I found socks with good cuffs that folded over and held on tight. A definite advantage!

13. gender confusing outfits – This is purely personal. I hate the whole baby pink/ baby blue thing. So I often dress her in half pink and half blue. Or throw in a misleading pair of pink socks with the stripey-blue onesie.

I hope that helps in some way, shape or form. If you have any questions for this newbie mum, please ask away! I feel like I’ve been on such a steep, but wonderful, learning curve!

7 thoughts on “13 baby must-haves

  1. Vicky says:

    I’ve found that having lots (and do mean LOTS like 20+) of small towels or washcloths to wipe up spills, spit up messes and leaky boobs was an essential for me. Having lots means you can dot them around the place and you don’t have to worry about always having to wash them.

  2. Aimee says:

    Thanks for sharing! Can I ask which diaper bag you like from taobao? Is it pretty light when empty? Have been eyeing the Ryan Diaper Bag from Lesportsac (loved using the fake one from Yashow as it holds so much and is super light, but of course, it started falling apart on me!) but it’s pretty pricey at $139 USD… never thought of looking for a much cheaper but sturdy option on taobao–thanks!

Leave a Reply

