Lamington Biscuits

I thought my inaugural blog post should introduce my first creative move for the year. Living overseas makes events such as Australia Day seem so much more important! So, for Australia Day, our international group of friends got together for snags in bread and a bring-your-own creative Australian dessert. I’ve always loved lamingtons, but I’ve never attempted to make them. I wanted to add my own little touch to these chocolatey-coconutty delights.

So, I made a big piece of shortbread. Now, this is not as simple as it sounds in my crazy oven, but after an engineering feat of balanced oven trays, glass dishes and baking trays I had a perfect piece of shortbread. After cutting the shortbread into timtam size pieces, I drowned them in chocolate and dipped them in coconut. Instead of the usual desiccated coconut, I used much fleshier coconut pieces which added to the texture of the biscuits.

I am so proud of these and plan to make them again and again in the future.

3 thoughts on “Lamington Biscuits

  1. Katherine Koger says:

    Any chance of getting the recipe!! These sound amazing and would absolutely make them for Australia Day next year!!! Thank you!!

    • Sure! I just made a basic shortbread recipe:

      3/4 cup flour
      1/4 cup caster sugar
      1/2 cup butter

      Combine flour and sugar, then work in the butter. Refrigerate dough for a few hours if possible. Roll out the dough to about 1cm thick and cut into shapes. Bake at 180 degrees Celsius until browned slightly (only 5-10 minutes – watch it carefully!!).

      Then, I coated the cooled shortbread in chocolate and immediately dipped them in coconut.

      Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

